noodles

Yesterday was my husband’s first day back at school, so even though nothing really changed for me, it felt a little different — like I was officially a (temporary) SAHM.

He has been craving a good bowl of noodles since we watched this on Netflix, and who am I to deny him what he wants? This was a good one to do while taking care of Cayenne because I was able to do it in several short spurts throughout the day instead of having to find a whole block of time to cook.

IMG_2591

For the broth:

  • 4 cups dashi
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • a thumb-sized piece of ginger, peeled and sliced
  • soy sauce to taste
  • black pepper

Everything else:

  • Hard-boiled eggs, peeled and cut in half lengthwise
  • Thinly sliced cooked pork (I cooked a couple of boneless pork chops in about a T each of sesame oil and vegetable oil)
  • Thinly sliced scallions
  • Cooked sliced mushrooms*
  • Cooked noodles (I used thin Chinese egg noodles)
  • Steamed spinach

Prepare the dashi,** pork, mushrooms, eggs, and scallions ahead of time.

Combine all broth ingredients and bring to a boil slowly; simmer, covered, until ready to serve.

Just before dinnertime, cook the noodles and lightly steam the spinach.

Fill each bowl with noodles, pour broth over them, and top with pork, egg, vegetables, and freshly ground black pepper.

* Because I live in the Wonderbread Belt I can’t usually get shiitake mushrooms, which is what I really wanted. I steamed some plain button mushrooms. This didn’t really work; next time I will saute them in sesame oil or leave them out altogether.

** This is the method I used to make the dashi; there are lots of ways to do it, but they all basically involve soaking the kombu then adding the katsuo bushi and straining it.

4 responses to “noodles

  1. Yum! It looks so fresh and nourishing!

  2. Thanks so much for linking to my How To Make Dashi post. 🙂 I just shared your post on my fan page. Thank you!! xo

  3. mmmmmmm….me want noodles.

Leave a Reply

