miracle, part 4

Later the surgeon told me it was a miracle I ever got pregnant.

Apparently the scarring from the myomectomy had taken over my abdomen, forming adhesions with my tubes and my bowel. It confirms my RE’s suspicions, and it certainly explains why lefty wouldn’t come out.

The adhesions with the bowel were particularly bad, and according to the surgeon he spent some time trying to repair that area. He claims I am now “more anatomically correct.” He wasn’t able to do anything about the scarring on my tubes; I’m not sure if that’s because he had to get out quickly once the anesthesia started to wear off, or if it is actually irreparable.

According to him, it is likely that more adhesions will result from the C-section. He also noted that the appearance of my myomectomy scar should have been a clue that the healing on the inside was not going well. I never knew there was anything wrong with my scar, but apparently they’re not supposed to look like that….I had to ask him to explain “keloiding” to me, and he was really surprised I didn’t know that it was a problem. Live and learn, I guess?

But now we know — because my tubes, while open, were basically pasted to my uterus in inconvenient locations, there is no way those IUIs were ever going to work.

I heard the word “miracle” over and over again while we were in the hospital. Cayenne is truly a miracle and I am so grateful that he is here with us.

14 responses to “miracle, part 4

  1. Congrats that Cayenne is here and safe. I’m so sorry for the crazy experience you had. I’m still kind of clueless as to why he wasn’t getting oxygen. Unless your placenta abrupt(pulled away from uterine wall) or they cut the placenta in their incisions, the oxygen should still have been getting to Cayenne. Until the placenta is cut off from the baby, and they take their first breath, you are still providing the oxygen. Very interesting. And also to find out during this surgery the amount of adhesions, holy cow! I’m just happy to hear you’re both safe and sound now! Many blessings to you! And what a big boy for not quite 37 weeks. Good job Mom cooking a healthy baby boy! 🙂

  2. Congratulations! He’s gorgeous. So glad you’re both safe and sound after that ordeal!

  3. What a ride, lady, what a ride… Congratulations of making it on the safe side! And even more for such a gorgeous boy!

  4. Oh my gosh. What a scary ride. Congrats on your beautiful little one and I’m so glad you are both okay!!!

  5. He’s beautiful – congratulations!!

  6. congratulations!!!

  7. I started crying at miracle, part 2 and didn’t stop until then end of this post. Pardon my overly sentimental reading of your blog, but HOLY MOLEY, CAYENNE IS HERE!!!!
    I am so happy for you, dear woman. And I am so glad the complications resolved quickly and that both you and your babe are healthy. He is absolutely perfect.
    CONGRATS to you and Mr. Lime

  8. Cayenne! Oh, he is the most beautiful thing in the world. The tiny perfect nose! The sweetest little ear! That rosebud mouth! Though…I wonder if that floppy hat was part of the reason your delivery was so rough…

    Dear G&L, I am SO SORRY about the bad part. The description of seeing your son in the NICU was super heartbreaking to read. I’m grateful beyond words that you are both okay. But I wish you’d gotten a perfect delivery to go with your perfect son.

    Huge, huge congratulations to you and Mr. Lime.

  9. It is possible that you have some reformation of scarring in your cervix or uterus that is blocking your menstrual flow. The presence of any “new” scarring can be confirmed using an HSG or a sonohystogram. An additional hysteroscopy will usually remove these “fresh” adhesions without difficulty. The common school of thought is that these reformations are not, in actuality, “new” scarring but rather the regrowth of scarring that wasn’t completely removed during the first surgery. The removal of scar tissue from the interior of the uterus is a very difficult task. The surgeon must go “deep enough” to remove the base or “source” of the scarring, but not so deep as to damage the endometrium. An experienced Asherman’s surgeon will err on the side of caution and not cut too deeply into the uterus. This means that is it quite common for some minor regrowth to occur from the few adhesions that were cut at a point “above” their base level. Such regrowth is not difficult to remove and can usually be accomplished quite easily.

  10. First things first… Congrats! He is beautiful.

    Second things second… I’m really glad that you are okay.

  11. Squeeze that Mr Lime for us, ok?

  12. When appropriate, a laparoscopic myomectomy may be performed. In this procedure, the surgeon removes fibroids with the help of a viewing tube (laparoscope) inserted into the pelvic cavity through an incision in the navel. The fibroids are removed through a tiny incision under the navel that is much smaller than the 4–5 in (10–13 cm) opening required for a standard myomectomy.

  13. Very interesting. And, even in the hands of a skilled surgeon, not all fibroids can be removed laparoscopically. I know, I had to have both a laparoscopic and abdominal myomectomy to remove mine.

    During my c-section with my older son, the same was true for me, my bowel was adhered to the back of my uterus. We happened to know this, beforehand, due to an exploratory laparoscopy I had prior to my transfer. My OB actually called in another surgeon to handle removing my bowel from my uterus. And, yes, it took a LONG time. Thank god for skilled and compassionate anesthesiologists.

    And, while my bowel was clear of my uterus during c-section #2, a tubal ligation could not be performed because both my fallopian tubes and round ligaments are adhered to the back of my uterus and my MFM literally could not tell which was which.

    We are adhesion sistas.

    I am glad you are more anatomically correct now 🙂

  14. Pingback: healed | ginger and lime

Leave a Reply

