T2 is here

Thank you so much for your thoughts on my last post. It was really helpful to read such thoughtful commentary from so many smart ladies, especially some who have been in similar situations.

I was on the phone with my brother and by some miracle none of his 3 kids were crying or needing his attention at the moment, so I bit the bullet and told him about the money. I did just as some of you suggested — I asked him to please listen to what I had to say, even though it was about Dad, and I just laid it out as simply as possible. I have this money, your girls deserve half of it, and I would like to bring you a check when I see you after Christmas.

To my surprise, he didn’t get upset. He was thrilled at the idea of having something extra to put in their college funds, and he will happily accept the check. I guess some things do go better than expected! Either he’s mellowing or he’s just that freaked out about paying for college x 3.

In pregnancy news, there is now a Bump. Like egghunt, I find myself in need of constant proof that this is actually happening. My nausea is getting a lot better and I’m not feeling any movement yet, so the expanding belly* is the best evidence I have that I didn’t just make this whole pregnancy thing up. I am still finding it  hard to believe that there is an actual live fetus in there. To try and direct my thoughts a little better, I am touching my belly a lot and thinking of the fetus inside. Making myself visualize a still-beating heart, a growing body, in the hope of making it all feel a little more real.

We are starting to think about names. What we have learned so far: picking a name is hard. Luckily we still have lots of time. I know it’s early to be making lists of names, but it’s another way for me to feel connected, like this is really happening.

We are also thinking about furniture. My husband is on winter break for the next few weeks and wants to get things bought and set up as much as possible before spring semester starts. I understand his thinking and certainly the longer we wait the less help I will be in terms of moving stuff around and putting things together, but this feels like tempting fate to me. I am barely into T2 (15w), and so much can go wrong. How much worse would it be if we had already set up a crib? I can’t imagine the pain of dismantling a never-used nursery. Despite my latent superstition, though, I think we’re going to go furniture shopping in a couple of weeks and proceed as though a real live baby is actually coming.

* And the still-growing breasts … seriously, are they ever going to stop? I was a D and then some before I even got pregnant, and this is getting ridiculous!

 

5 responses to “T2 is here

  1. Congrats on getting through the first trimester! This stage has to be hard without the reassurances of frequent ultrasounds and constant nausea. But it sounds like you’re hanging in there. I’m pretty sure buying furniture isn’t going to affect your pregnancy one way or the other. I hope you can enjoy planning for your little one!

  2. Congrats on T2. And hope the furniture buying goes well. I understand your trepidation (boy, do I…) but also logic tells me it wont help to delay the purchases either (even though thats what i’m doing – do as I say not as I do 🙂 !).
    Its a strange crazy time and I know I feel like i’ve stepped into the twilight zone myself. It does help when you start to feel movement, but I still have that same overall sense of fraudness.
    Keep rubbing that belly 🙂 xx

  3. I am glad that things with your brother have come to a resolution that feels good for you, and seemingly for him. I must say, my lack of experience with siblings prevented me from weighing in, and I am glad that many other women had some thoughtful comments to support you as you made decisions on how to proceed.

    Oh my! T2 and crib shopping. G&L, I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I am to be reading about you fully entering the second trimester of PREGNANCY. Yes, you are pregnant. Amazing, isn’t it.

    I was thinking about the time between the end of morning sickness and the beginning of reliable fetal movement as like radio silence. Thank goodness for the growing bump, or else it’s barely possible to believe one is pregnant. But you are not too far off from movement. Let me tell you, I look forward to that post my friend.

    I am sitting on a train with my husband right now and we just did a 2-hour blitz of name brainstorming. We are no further along. So yeah, I agree: it’s hard (but oh, how much less hard than morning monitoring or sonohysterograms).

    Wishing you Happy Holidays, lovely pregnant G&L.

  4. congrats on T2!
    We found it a challenge to come up with a name or two that we liked. Thankfully we finally came to an agreement.
    About baby furniture, I ended up putting together the changing table all by myself and the crib with some help (I was wanting to do it alone) near the end of my pregnancy. Some things aren’t that hard to put together, but it definitely would have been easier if my tummy wasn’t in the way so much. Good luck finding what you like and getting it assembled!

  5. I was just thinking I needed to poke you to see if you and fetus were still alive. I’m so happy you both are! And that things went so well with your brother. I totally would not have predicted that. And I admit it also warms my heart a little to think how happy it will make your dad.

    Furniture! Names! Oh, what a wonderful world. The nice thing about names is the name will become the child and the child will become the name. I still sometimes thing “did I really name my child that?” but the hardest part is certainly this part, where there’s no PERSON to go with the name.

    I assume you are considering “bunny”, yes?

Leave a Reply

