hierarchy of needs

(Content note: ungrateful complaining ahead.)

I tried to watch the debate last night, but I was dozing before they got out of Syria. Surely that says something about my level of intellectual engagement with Middle East policy, but it says more about my physiological state.

I didn’t know tired like this was possible.

My entire life is the bottom of the pyramid: Can I eat that? Will it make me want to vomit? When can I take a nap?

And that’s about it.

I am SO grateful to have a cubicle-type job; I can’t imagine trying to do this if I was waitressing or something.

I am also SO incredibly grateful to have gotten to 7 weeks, and I promise I will tell you all about it if I can ever stay awake long enough to post about it.

8 responses to “hierarchy of needs

  1. theyellowblanket

    Yay, 7 weeks! That’s something you can shake a stick at!

  2. Congrats on 7 weeks! Go take a nap, and don’t feel bad about it!

  3. A nice way of putting it. You have been reduced to a bit of an ORGANISM. I’ve been looking at my calendar wondering when your ultrasound is. Soon, I imagine. I hope you’ll post “embryo alive” soon. Also, saltines are your friend.

  4. I haven’t been able to comment (annoying) but I wanted to tell you how elated I am! Congratulations!!! Now, go back to sleep 🙂

  5. the silence was unnerving. Thanks for posting an update, for us anxious types. I’m THRILLED to read that you are tired and want to vomit. I hope you are managing ok. I felt it like a mission each day: get through the day and then you can sleep.
    Congrats on reaching 7 weeks! Looking forward to the heartbeat update.

  6. I’ve never understood how people can get through that miserable first trimester and still hold a job of any kind, so you’re stronger than I could dream of being! I’m sorry you’re having symptoms (which is not being sorry that you’re pregnant – I’m fucking thrilled that you’re pregnant!) and hopefully the next few weeks fly by so you can get to that blissful stage where you’re showing off the bump and feeling movement and…eek, I’m just still so happy for you 🙂 Congrats! And really, with winter coming, who needs to be awake and alert anyway 😉

  7. So glad to hear from you!!! And to read that you are currently feeling so “needy.” 😉 Thinking of you!

  8. I hear you on this! I wish i had read your insight at the time… I spent so much time frustrated with the fact that I was grounded in the basement of needs. But it makes sense, and the way you put it… well, it would have helped me get through it if I’d read a post like this at the time that I was pregnant. Because I desperately was trying to be creative (at work), and I failed epically. And my emotions weren’t so good at handling it. Eventually you’ll go all psycho for some of the other needs (“nesting” and the need for your partner’s fidelity/love), but yeah. The top of the pyramid? Creativity? Forget about it!!

Leave a Reply

