they’re in there

As of today I am more pregnant than I have ever been. I get to say that, right? Because the next few days may well be my only chance to use the word “pregnant” without “not” in front of it.

We transferred 2 embryos — the one that was 5 cells yesterday and the better-looking of the 4-cell ones from yesterday. I don’t know how many cells they had today because they both morulized early. (Also, just because it came up in the comments on my last post, today was a 3-day transfer. My update from this morning was about yesterday’s progress. I guess it was a little confusing!)

We ended up doing assisted hatching, which we were not planning on, but the embryologist told us that the zona pellucida on both of the embryos was very thick and was not thinning out as she would like to see it do, so she went ahead and did the hatching. The word “hatching” delighted my bird-loving husband. I have to wonder if overly thick zonae pellucidae* have been complicating the problems that come from the poor sperm morphology — what if the sperm’s shape problems combined with the thick eggs has been making them just bounce off each other instead of fertilizing for all these years? But I guess I shouldn’t be surprised — every time we go to the doctor we find something else wrong with me.

The actual transfer was not too bad. There were way too many people crammed into the procedure room (me, my husband, the RE, the embryologist, another doctor who was running the ultrasound machine, a nurse, and a medical student), but it went quickly and smoothly, and I was so focused on not peeing on everyone that I didn’t have any mental space to panic. I suspect the whole full-bladder thing is just to give freaked-out ladies like me something to concentrate on while scary things are happening.

After the transfer they had me lie down for about an hour, and the embryologist came in and showed us pictures of the whole process. She showed us the difference between the 5 eggs that were mature and the 2 that were not, we saw the ICSI process happen (and we could even make out the sperm inside the pipette), and then there were pictures of the fertilized eggs and the embryos taken at various times over the last 3 days. It was a really cool thing and I’m so glad they did it — if I have a complaint at all about this clinic it’s that I don’t always get the depth of information I would like, but this was great.

Of the 3 embryos we didn’t transfer, 1 was also morulizing but none of them look very good and the lab is not optimistic that we will have anything to freeze. So, you know, this is really it. The last chance.

There are many posts percolating in my head about feelings and emotional journeys and other schmaltzy stuff, but I don’t think I can even go there yet. I’m just going to sit for a spell with the fact that there are 2 embryos inside my uterus right now.

* My blog, my made-up pluralizations.
26 responses to “they’re in there

  1. Here’s hoping one (or both) of your embryos decide to stick around for the next 9 months or so. Sending you lots of positive vibes.

  2. i’ve been reading your blog now for the last several weeks (this is the first time i am commenting)…i had my transfer a couple of weeks ago (my first IVF which was converted from an IUI cycle) so i can relate to many things in your post today (having that full bladder was the worst part of the transfer, i was in so much pain!) except my clinic did not share pictures of my eggs/embryos with us, so that is very cool that you got to see yours! enjoy being pregnant right now. i read that if there are 10 hurdles to get over to get and stay pregnant IVF bypasses 8 of them! (an IUI only 2!) so you have a lot to be positive about 🙂 i wish you and your husband the best.

  3. “I’m just going to sit for a spell with the fact that there are 2 embryos inside my uterus right now.”

    Simply amazing! So excited for you!

  4. Oh, G&L, I am so nervous for you! And excited! FUCK. This is such an emotional rollercoaster.

  5. That’s great news! Good luck – grow, embies, grow and stick (at least one of you guys)!
    Oh, and your “made-up pluralizations” are perfect Latin, if I recall my Latin grammar correctly 😉

  6. welcome home, little ones.

  7. Wow, wow, wow. So thrilled, so scared, so hopeful. Because I was like hey, sometimes IVF works for *waves hands* REASONS!, I like the idea that your extra rubbery eggs might have been the magic piece of the puzzle. I mean, not that it’s awesome you’ve got thick zonae, but it just seems…promising. Okay uterus and embryos, you’ve got your marching orders. Do what you need to do, my beauties!

  8. Woohoo! Fingers crossed…you can do boyz (I would be talking to your embryos) haha!

    I”m just a lurker who is very excited for you and just to come out of hiding to say woot woot!

  9. Hello…here from ICLW (#91)! Fingers are crossed for you 🙂

  10. Fingers, eyes, toes crossed!

  11. oh G&L this is AWESOME news!!!!! Congratulations!! xx

  12. I just stumbled on your blog and wanted to congratulate you on being PUPO….I had my FET yesterday so I will be cheering you on as we go through this 2WW together. I hope and pray at least one of your embryos sticks! Good Luck!

  13. Hello. Stopping by from ICLW. I have everything crossed for you!!! Good luck!

  14. Hi there! Here from ICLW (#61)…I’m starting stims today for my first IVF so I’m a bit behind you! Sooooo hoping 1 (or 2) of those embies stick around for you!

  15. I am so freaking excited for you! Fingers crossed those embryos make themselves at home!

  16. Hoping to see some good on here in a few weeks! Fx’ed 🙂

  17. Hello from ICLW! Sending you all the luck in the world. Congrats on being PUPO!! 🙂 🙂 Sending you some sticky vibes!!

    ICLW #3

  18. Hi from ICLW! I’m thinking good thoughts for you 🙂

  19. Hi from iclw. Congrats on being PUPO. I also had a 3day transfer yesterday and am constantly mind boggled that there is more life inside me than there ever has been. Wishing you lots of luck!

  20. Hey there from ICLW!

    You ARE pregnant. Pregnant, pregnant, pregnant. (It’s like in school where some teachers tell you you start with an A).

    Everything crossed for you!

  21. Hi from ICLW! We just finished our first IVF a few weeks ago. Can’t wait to hear the GOOD news 🙂

  22. So glad to hear that you made it to transfer with a couple of good ones! That’s really interesting about going with the assisted hatching. it’s this kind of thing that i think really makes IVF worth it and helpful (not like it’s not in other situations, but this is something you’d never have found out otherwise). NEW information may just be the ticket!! Thinking of you!

  23. Whoo hoo for PUPO! Hope you have a wonderful 2ww ending in two lines! Here from ICLW (#38)!

  24. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!! I hope you get your BFP soon!!!

  25. You share responsibility in reaching decisions and following medical advice aimed at reducing the chance of a high-order multiple pregnancy. Your doctor may recommend that a specific number of embryos or eggs be transferred, based on your diagnosis or past reproductive history. You have the right to ask your doctor to transfer fewer in order to lower the risk of a multiple pregnancy. If your doctor is not willing, seek treatment elsewhere. If you wish to have more eggs or embryos transferred than is recommended, your doctors are not required to comply. Doctors are not obligated to help create a situation that is likely to cause harm to a patient or any resulting children.

Leave a Reply

