protein

The other day when my doctor told me my follicles had stopped growing, they said I should eat lots of protein over the next few days. I have trouble with this — I hit my limit on meat* very quickly, and much prefer to eat a plate full of veggies with a little protein added rather than the other way around. So when I got home I put together this soup (triple protein: meat, eggs, and tofu!) in the hope of upping my protein without feeling gross. As it turned out I was too anxious to eat much for most of the weekend, but I did eat a little and while it doesn’t look like much, it sure does taste good. Lots of packaged/canned ingredients, so this went together really fast. The silken tofu mixed with the ground turkey gives a really nice texture.

Triple Protein Soup

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 package silken tofu
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 bunch of scallions, thinly sliced
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • a whole lot of grated fresh ginger
  • 1 can water chestnuts, chopped
  • 2 t cayenne
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1/4 c soy sauce

Mix the first 8 ingredients together in a large bowl. Brown the mixture in a large skillet. While the turkey mixture is browning, combine the remaining ingredients in a large saucepan or Dutch oven.

When the broth is just about to boil, add the turkey mixture to the pot and simmer 1 hour.

* I’m the same way with beans. I can only eat a little at a time.

4 responses to “protein

  1. Sounds sooo yummy, really warm and comforting. And proteiny.

    My husband ate a steak the other day and I was like, “You are eating enough protein for several weeks.” It’s amazing how off the average american’s consumption of protein is! Except I rather like beans.

  2. oh oh oh, it sounds delicious!!!!! I was always told to eat more protien too, but i find it quite hard as well cause they’re so filling.
    Thinking of you x

  3. This looks delicious! I am definitely going to try it once it gets a bit cooler here!

  4. mmmmmm….sounds delicious. I have made your recipes in the past with great success, and I think I will have to continue the tradition with this soup. Especially since I am insanely craving protein recently.
    Rest well, and enjoy the soup.

Leave a Reply

