better living through chemistry

Holy shit.

For those of you keeping score at home, that’s

  • 2 Gonal-F pens (1 900 and 1 300)
  • 2 boxes of Menopur (75 IU)
  • 4 doses of Ganirelix (250 mcg)
  • 1 box of Novarel
  • 32 doses of Endometrin

I still haven’t been able to get a straight answer on what my dosages or instructions will be, but it’s pretty clear from the above that I’m doing an antagonist protocol with the Gonal-F and Menopur taken concurrently.

I am expecting CD1 next Thursday, which means we will haul all of this stuff into the clinic next Friday for our lesson on how to poke me repeatedly with sharp objects. I am crossing my fingers that CD1 doesn’t happen next Friday instead, because I know I need to start meds on CD2 or 3, and I don’t think our IVF coordinator works on weekends.

6 responses to “better living through chemistry

  1. Lisa @ hapahopes

    Isn’t the drug box weird? Exciting, harrowing, and sad all packaged up together. Here’s to the start of a successful cycle!

  2. Whoa!!! I hear so much about all of these treatments on the blogs, but it is incredible to see all your gear laid out like that. I get very emotional just looking at your photo:

    It’s a bunch of pharmaceutical products.
    It’s the result of countless hours and years of research by dedicated scientists.
    It’s a whole month of your time, effort, and physical and emotional discomfort.
    It’s a huge pile of hope, and an even bigger pile of fear.
    It’s likely and hopefully a baby, a brand new person.

    I have chills.

    • Thank you for that perspective. I hadn’t thought of it in terms of the research and the pure scientific virtuosity — that is so, so much better framing than just thinking of it as boxes and boxes of fear and dread.

  3. that’s quite the arsenal. This is really happening. These are the meds that may very well help you make a baby and become a mom. That’s how I look at your ‘box of doom’
    hope you can get in to have your med orientation soon, so that you feel prepared.

  4. theyellowblanket

    I second what others have said about how incredible it is to see all of these drugs spread out like that! I wish you the very best with this cycle. You’ve also been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award : http://theyellowblanket.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/one-lovely-blog-award/

  5. ZOWIE. Your caption says it all. And I love the way Lesely describes it. May this pile (sorry, neat little array) of drugs give rise to a new person!

    (Also, this post never showed up in my reader. Just happened to see it in someone’s sidebar. In case you were like WHERE’S ALL THAT SUPPORT YOU PROMISED ME, PEOPLE?)

Leave a Reply

