potato salad with kalamata olives and feta

Apparently I am now writing a food blog…

This is what I made today.  It is a VAST quantity, as it’s meant to be lunch for both me and my husband for an entire week (with probably some left over).

Potato Salad with Kalamata Olives and Feta

  • 10 medium potatoes, peeled and quartered
  • 10 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
  • 6-8 oz kalamata olives, pitted and coarsely chopped
  • 4 oz feta cheese crumbles
  • 2 14.5-oz cans chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 c extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 c red wine vinegar
  • 1 t oregano
  • salt to taste
  • crushed red pepper to tasted (I think I put in about a teaspoon)

Boil the potatoes in salted water.  Drain and cool, then dice.  Roughly chop the hard-boiled eggs.  Whisk the last 5 ingredients together, then toss everything in a very large bowl.

When I was thinking about quantities, I was thinking 1 potato + 1 egg per person per day, but it’s such a very big quantity that I may have overdone things a little…

I make a big bowl of something every Sunday that we can just scoop into containers and take with us to work each morning, and this one turned out particularly well so I thought I would share.

5 responses to “potato salad with kalamata olives and feta

  1. hmm, that sounds absolutely yummy….

  2. Potatoes, olives, and feta cheese? Win. Win. Win. Yummy!

  3. Sounds very Mediterranean and delicious!

  4. I’m trying this without the olives and extra feta.

    Did you know that olives are potentially a cause for divorce in my family? Stan HATES them with every bone in his body. And he calls himself a Spaniard…

Leave a Reply

