daruma

My dad brought this for me from Tokyo as a housewarming gift.  It’s a daruma and it is in the wish-granting business.

According to my dad, you write your wish on the daruma’s right eye at the beginning of the new year, then paint over the whole eye with black.  The daruma stays in your house with one black eye and one white eye for an entire year.  At the end of the year, when (not if) your wish has come true, you blacken the left eye as well and then take it to the local temple to be burned.

We are lacking in Japanese temples here in the hinterland, but I am tempted to make a wish to my daruma anyway.  Will 2012 be the year?  I’m sort of counting on this.  Daruma, don’t let me down!

5 responses to “daruma

  1. I really, really hope that 2012 is your year!
    I am glad your new abode is closer to family and an Asian market, the dish in your last post looked amazing.

  2. Oh I like that idea! Here’s hoping for a very amazing 2012 for you! 🙂

  3. Port of Indecision

    Here’s hoping for the magical powers of the daruma. And if nothing else, a bitchin’ bonfire when you get to burn that thing next year.

  4. I love the bonfire burning idea. Hope the daruma holds the key!

  5. Your last post still has me salivating. Sluuuurp! I feel like you guys have been granted a fresh new start, and it seems impossible to imagine it won’t be the year that things start falling into place. Particularly with the daruma working for ‘ya!

Leave a Reply

