we’re moving!

Extra points if you know our destination from the title of my last post.

My husband is leaving tomorrow and I have been trying to help him get ready.  He is of course preparing for teaching, but we’re also having to think about what things he will need to bring with him right away to get set up in a new apartment or house.

I think it’s going to be tough on him at first, particularly since he won’t have a car and I will have all the furniture.  We are going to try hard to avoid making major purchases, but he’s going to have to sleep somewhere, and I’m worried about how he’ll get around.  He’s confident he can find a place to live that’s near to where he’ll be working, but we don’t know how the town is laid out at all so I just don’t know how feasible it is to be without a car.  My friend is going to help him out for a while, but my husband is not someone who is comfortable asking for help and I can just picture him living on granola bars or something because he can’t get to the grocery store.

I have announced at work that I am leaving; my last day is October 14.  It feels so wonderful to know that I won’t have to do this job forever.  Cliche or no, it feels like a weight has been lifted off my chest.  I also had to call the search committee at the job I interviewed for to tell them I’m withdrawing from consideration.  That was a hard call to make.

Our destination is not in a state that mandates insurance coverage for infertility treatments and we haven’t seen the details of the university’s health plan yet, but even so the fact that my husband will be making a good salary puts us in a better position than we are currently, even if I don’t start working right away.  We suspect that we will have to drive a considerable distance to find a clinic (haven’t researched this yet), and I don’t know if we’ll have to start all over again with testing.  Does anyone have any experience with this?  It’s been about a year since we’ve seen my RE and about 8 months since we’ve seen the urologist; if and when we decide to re-technologize our babymaking efforts, will we want to have all of our tests repeated, or will we be able to go from our previous results?  I sort of think we should start again because it’s been so long since some of the tests were done.

I’m feeling really hopeful right now, and I have to say that at least part of that is due to the fact that in less than 2 months I will get up in the morning and NOT go to my office!

 

 

11 responses to “we’re moving!

  1. Congrats to your hubby on the new job!

  2. Duh! I wondered about the title, but didn’t think to make the connection. Of course, my preferred version is the Toots & the Maytals version, in which it’s Jamaica. Is it Jamaica?!? I’m sorry you had to pull out of the search. I guess it was the responsible thing to do, but bleah. Shitty. And yeah, I want to throw an enormous party for you, getting to leave that job. October sounds like a million years away, but pretty soon you’ll be counting down the days. Promise me you won’t let them suck the life out of you in the meantime?

    I hope your husband’s travel and settling in goes well–sounds stressful, but also like an adventure. And remind him he can always get a month’s worth of ramen delivered via Amazon…

    No experience, but I’d bet good money you’ll get to go through all the tests again. I’d think even if you went back to the same RE they’d want a fresh start.

    Seriously happy for you guys!

  3. Oh, and I love the new header–such a beautiful photo!

  4. I’m excited for your move. Sounds like it will be a good thing for you and the Mister.

    I agree with bunny – your new header pic is beautiful. Where is it from? Bali?

  5. Port of Indecision

    Congrats on the move 🙂 I’d think if you guys do decide to re-technologize your conception efforts that you’d want to have things re-tested. At least the things that can change.

  6. At my clinic they make you redo the tests for STDs, HIV etc., every year, but not sure about the diagnostic stuff. Congrats on the new life! There’s nothing like being liberated from a job you want to leave.

  7. How exciting! What great great news. I mean, this could just be the thing for you. One little change (ok, so maybe it isnt so little) and all the rest starts to fall into place.

    Work is way too consuming to not love it or at least enjoy it. Course I am full of shit cause I keep my job for the same reason – I have many, many (uh, many!) bills to pay.

    I am so excited for you G&L!

  8. guessing@gmail.com

    West Virginia?

  9. Wishing you lots of luck with the move! 🙂

Leave a Reply

