everything you always wanted to know about me (but were afraid to ask)

Helpfully arranged in alphabetical order.

I saw this meme at Misconceptions About Conception and decided to give it a try.

A. Age: 32.

B. Bed size: Queen. .

C. Chore you dislike: All of them, lol!  But if I had to pick one most-hated chore, it would be cleaning the fucking blinds.

D. Dogs: I have no quarrel with dogs, but none of them live in my house.  The downstairs neighbors have two dogs, one very big, one very small.  I don’t know what breeds they are.

E. Essential start to your day:  Coffee.  And lots of it.

F. Favorite color:  Green.

G. Gold or silver:  I wear very little jewelry, and when I do it’s usually big chunky colorful necklaces that look like I bought them at World Market.

H. Height:  5’4″.

I. Instruments you play(ed):  I play the clarinet.  I also had some piano lessons when I was a kid (enough to get through my college keyboard requirement).

J. Job title:  On my business cards: Assistant Director.  On file in HR (for pay scale purposes): Administrative Assistant.

K. Kids:  None yet.

L. Live:  The top floor of a duplex in a gentrifying urban neighborhood.

M. Mom’s name:  Margaret.

N. Nicknames:  None.  My name doesn’t shorten easily.

O. Overnight hospital stays:  Just one.

P. Pet peeves:  People who say “regiment” when they mean “regimen.”  No, you are not actually starting an exercise regiment, and it’s judgey of me but I am going to take you less seriously when you say you are.  This usage is surprisingly common.

Q. Quote from a movie:  “I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed.”  (John Cusack as Lloyd Dobler in Say Anything.)

R. Righty or lefty:  Righty.

S. Siblings:  One brother, a year younger.

T. Time you wake up:  6:30.

U. Underwear:  Hanes cotton with the special comfort waistband.  Because I’m all about luxury.

V. Vegetables you don’t like:  Beets.  Ugh.  I always figured I just didn’t like crappy canned beets and was really excited to try cooking fresh beets.  I roasted them, sauteed them, boiled them, grated them into salad, and guess what?  Still gross.  The other thing I have tried really, really hard to like is bitter melon.  I like most other vegetables.

W. What makes you run late:  Pure unadulterated laziness.  I am rarely late, but when I am it’s because I just didn’t want to get out of bed.

X. X-rays you’ve had:  teeth, of course.  My head, when I had a concussion as a kid.  My right arm after a car accident.

Y. Yummy food you make:  I love to cook but am not necessarily very accomplished.  Mostly I just mess around in the kitchen.  My current favorite is what I call “fancy ramen.”  Homemade chicken broth with lots of ginger, egg drops, ramen noodles, baby pak choi, and mushrooms.  Topped with chopped chilli peppers, scallions, fresh basil, and a little bit of tomato.  A great quick weekend lunch — by the time the broth is boiling the veggies are chopped, so it’s just 3 minutes of cook time.

Z. Zoo animal favorites:  Penguins, what else?

7 responses to “everything you always wanted to know about me (but were afraid to ask)

  1. Beets taste like dirt, case closed. I’m a big veggie fan but I cannot get on the beets bandwagon. Barf.

  2. This was a great read! I think that line from Llyod Dobbler is also my favourite. When I started reading it on your blog, it ran in my head too. It’s such a memorable line.
    And beets are so marvelous, but I can see them not being for everyone. There are so many other veggies to befriend, that the beets won’t fault you for it. The only veggie I don’t like is fennel.
    Much like the regimen/regiment mix up, my pet peeve is when people conflate exasperated for exacerbated. It irritates the dickens out of me.

  3. I LOVE Lloyd!

    Congrats to your husband! Great accomplishment!

  4. It was nice to read about you…

    I do not wear a lot of jewellery. I had a nose ring going for almost seven years, and then I had it out before I went for my C-section. The only jewellery I am wearing today is my bangles (I don’t wear earrings even).

    I don’t like bitter gourd.

  5. Ooh, we both play the clarinet! (Though I daresay you are MUCH better than I! 😉 )

  6. First, HUGE congratulations to your husband. That must be such a load off! I hope he’s enjoying the achievement. Your fancy ramen sounds so delicious. Have you seen the movie Tampopo? Sounds like you’re living it…

  7. Congrats to your husband!!!!

    I had to comment on the “regiment/regimen” thing – mine is “regime/regimen”. No, you are not starting an exercise regime! Unless you are declaring yourself dictator over your body or something.

Leave a Reply

