in which i try something for once instead of just whining about it

So I am working on applying for a job out of state.  This would be a great opportunity for me, it actually pays a living wage, it’s in a part of the country that would have lots of opportunities for my husband, and we have friends not too far away.  It is a long shot for me — the equivalent of my current boss’s job at a different institution.  I think I would be good at it, but in a very, very different way than her.

It’s in a state that mandates insurance coverage of IVF.  (Why yes, that is the very first thing I Googled.  Why do you ask?)

Don’t fuck this up.  Don’t fuck this up.  Don’t fuck this up.

A few months ago I passed up the opportunity to apply for something that I think I would have been great at.  I just freaked out at the last minute and didn’t submit my CV.  (This one was an academic job that has a strong community outreach component, so my last few years in admin would have actually been a plus instead of a minus.)  I went pretty far in the process, updating my information, asking people to be references, etc. but when it came down to it I just couldn’t bring myself to pull the trigger.  A stupid missed opportunity, but I’m not going to miss this one.

I should be able to submit all of my materials tonight.

***EDIT:  Materials are in!  Now we just wait…..

9 responses to “in which i try something for once instead of just whining about it

  1. Nice!! It is huge to get ones act together and apply (I am doing it relentlessly these days).

    I really want you to get a fabulous new job in a state with mandated IVF coverage. My secret (or not so much since I’m writing it here) is that it is in a liberal northeast state where I now find myself.

    What is with all my parenthesis?
    Good luck!!

  2. So proud of you, woman. Yay! I like reading how committed you are to getting your application in. The worse thing that can happen is that you don’t get the job. But the best thing is that you could! And then you would have a kick ass job and affordable access to IVF.
    And really, you won’t fuck it up. Your job is just to submit the application and let go. The outcome of this is not resting entirely on what you do or don’t do. It’s just so great that you are taking this step.
    Go, G&L, Go!!

  3. Definitely apply! You never know what might happen. I’ve been looking at jobs in other states as well. There would definitely be more opportunities for both my husband and I in a larger, perhaps more liberal city, but we stay because of all of our friends. Who knows if I’ll ever actually move……

    If you are in theatre someone told me that Minneapolis is right up there with Chicago and New York as far as the theatre scene goes. It’s such an amazing city too. But I am a little biased. I used to live there and LOVED it 🙂

    Good luck getting everything together!

  4. This is wonderful! I’ve been known to freak out or give up on myself at the last minute, so I can empathize. I’m so glad you pushed yourself. I’ll be keeping everything crossed that this works out. You are AWESOME and they’re fools if they don’t snatch you up.

  5. Congrats for applying! Fingers crossed!!

    Also, IF coverage was the first thing I looked up when my future boss send me the links to insurance options… sadly that state does not cover IVF though, but at least IUIs.

  6. Well, go for it! Do it….to the finish.

    And if you chicken out or feel jittery, get hubby to press the ‘send’.

    Good Luck!

  7. Congrats on the opportunity! I am secretly hoping your new career move brings you to IL so I can meet your baby that is paid for by insurance. It doesnt get much better than this.

    Thanks for your note. Prayers are words to be defined by the reader. I have a feeling that good wishes coming from you would pull some serious weight with whatever is on the receiving end.

  8. Oooooohhh, IVF coverage! Good luck! You need to rock that interview.

  9. Pingback: unexpected good news (no, not bfp) | ginger and lime

Leave a Reply

