20 weeks

***EDIT:  Trigger warning may apply for those of you who are pregnant.  Big, big apologies if anyone had a bad reaction to either the post or the story linked below.  It was very insensitive of me to post this without thinking of those of you who are currently in the middle of a pregnancy.***

The whole propaganda campaign about so-called late term abortion has always seemed like a red herring to me.  All the handwringing about the supposed killing of viable fetuses is just so much bullshit.  Late term abortion is about tragedy.  A sick fetus.  A sick mother.  Terrible choices, the end of the road.  Sorrow.

No one goes through months and months of pregnancy then just up and changes her (flighty, unreasonable, feeeemale) mind and decides oops, she’d rather not be a mommy after all.  It. Just. Doesn’t. Happen.

This is what late term abortion means.  And all those bullshit anti-science shortsighted discriminatory sexist garbage fuckwad privileged assholes in state legislatures pushing for bans on abortion after 20 weeks, or after the heartbeat can be detected, or after whatever magical developmentally meaningless milestone they pick out of a fucking hat, are CHOOSING mothers’ continued suffering plus dead fetuses (for emphasis:  THEY ARE NOT SAVING BABIES) over basic medical care for expectant mothers.

(h/t to Shakesville for sharing Anonymous’ story this week)

6 responses to “20 weeks

  1. wow, that is an incredibly powerful story. Choosing an impossible choice is an extremely personal decision that should not be mandated by the government. I will never understand the anti-choice perspective, especially when it comes from a man. Very sad.

  2. Thank you for posting this (and for the warning above). I can’t get it out of my mind…the absolute nightmare situation this woman was in, but even worse, the horror of what could have been, had she not had the dignity to choose what was best for herself and her family. I am currently pregnant now (early), and while the idea of finding something so terribly wrong so late in the game (when the telling has already happened, and the gifts are starting to come in, and the excitement is mounting) is frightening, what really kept me awake last night was the thought of having to endure an entire 9 months of essentially carrying a dead baby. Of having to hear the constant cooing and congratulations and “is it a girl or a boy” and suffer all the aches & pains & discomforts knowing the horrible outcome that awaits.

    I cannot understand how anyone with an ounce of compassion or a sliver of a brain would deny women the basic dignity and respect of NOT having to go through that situation. This should be required reading for…well…everyone.

  3. You put it perfectly–terrible choices, the end of the road, sorrow. I suppose there ARE cases where women don’t know they’re pregnant until 20 weeks, but I have no idea what proportion of so-called late term abortions those cases are. And while such cases kinda stun me, I have to keep in mind that the bulk of the female population is not as focused on pregnancy as I am… I think the statement that resonated most for me (aside from BACK THE FUCK OFF) was to offer compassion before judgment. That’s always safe, right? And certainly the stories from women I know who have had to terminate that late are 100% heartbreaking.

  4. I was a fool before it happened to me. I thought late term abortion was the way it was presented – “nah, dont want it after all” and “but we really dont want a downs baby”. It made me angry.

    I thought wanted to die when I first learned what it meant in real life – to race to the hospital to check in by noon (or fly to Kansas) to terminate a much wanted pregnancy only after receiving hospital board approval.

    23 wks and 6 days – the only reason I could experience the worst thing of my entire life in my home, surrounded by family.

  5. thanks for posting this. it’s an important to make especially in times when reproductive rights are more and more threatened.

Leave a Reply

