you guys are awesome

Thank you so much for your feedback on my last post.  I have calmed down a little (always a good thing, I think), and thought about it some more.  Here’s what I ‘m going to do:

I’ve done some poking around and it looks like Lesley’s suggestion of travel insurance may be a viable one (more research definitely needed, as I’ve just taken a cursory look so far).  If and when we start to get phone calls about this I will be prepared to direct the kids and parents towards this option.  I know it’s not a real, long-term solution, but it’s better than a flat-out “Stay the hell home, uninsured people, and sew this scarlet ‘U’ on to your dress while you’re at it!”

I’m going to write to my Congressman (a bleeding heart like me, hurray!), my Senator, and the person I hope will be my other Senator in a few weeks.  I’m going to ignore the current Senator whom I’m hoping will be out of a job soon.

I live in one of those states that has one of those stupid laws on the books saying that it won’t comply with the federal health care reform legislation when it goes into effect.  Toothless and useless, since I don’t see how these states are going to be able to get out of complying, but poisonous as a sentiment nonetheless.  Hopefully if enough people like me make enough noise we can start to counterbalance the loonies on the other side who seem to operate on the principle of IGM-YOYO.*

I know that none of this is likely to make an actual difference for any actual kids this year, but at least I won’t just be sitting on my hands.**

*I’ve Got Mine, You’re On Your Own.

**Which leads me to wonder, am I doing this to salve my own conscience while avoiding taking a real stand that would very likely lead to losing my job?  Ugh.

2 responses to “you guys are awesome

  1. I think it’s great that you’re doing something to help the uninsured kids! Even if it is not a long-term solution, it’s a start.
    But how, please, can states opt out of the health care reform? Some things scare me.

  2. The travel insurance sounds like a good idea. I hope it works and I think it probably could. Good luck.
    Also, good on you for writing those letters. That’s how things get changed in this world, when unhappy people take a stand to change it. Yay for you!

Leave a Reply

