i’ve been tagged

By Jackie! And Leslie!

That’s 14 questions to answer.  Here are Jackie’s questions:

1. What would your college major be if you could go back to school and choose one (make one up if you want) without having to worry about finding a job in the field?

Yeah, I already did that.  I have 3 degrees in music, of all things.  But if I had it to do over again I still don’t think I would pick business or engineering or biochemistry.  I would love to go to culinary school, and as for more “academic” fields I would love to get a degree in comparative literature, or possibly religion.

2. What was the most embarrassing trend you followed during your high school days.

I really embraced the whole grunge thing and spent 1992-1997 (high school and most of college) in ripped jeans, Chuck Taylors, and ratty flannel shirts.  I wasn’t really embarrassed by it, though…

3. Describe the house where you grew up. Would you live there again if it came up for sale?

I grew up in a 2-bedroom bungalow in an inner-ring suburb of Cleveland, Ohio (it felt more “urban” than “suburban”).  I would move back to Cleveland in a heartbeat, and yes, I would definitely live in that house.  It was not big but it was comfortable and cozy, and we knew all the neighbors.  Later on we moved to an outer suburb; the house was bigger and the schools were better, but there wasn’t the same community feeling.  It was kind of cookie-cutter and I would not choose to live in a place like that.

4. Are you a city person, a country person, a suburb person, or a small town person? Which one describes you the least?

This is a hard question!  I can see myself living in any of those settings.  Currently I’m a city person and it’s working out OK, but I live in an old urban neighborhood with lots of tree cover and old houses; I don’t think I could handle the whole downtown loft, concrete jungle thing.  I think the one that describes me least is “country person.”  I like to be out in nature, but I’ve never really lived out in the country and it would be kind of new to me.

5. What concert would you love to see? What’s the best one you’ve ever seen?

I would love to see U2.  The best concert I’ve ever seen?  That’s really hard….I heard the Berlin Philharmonic play Beethoven 4, and it was transcendent.  I was also absolutely blown away by Meredith Monk, and eighth blackbird, of course.

6. You’re going on a 1-week vacation, but you can’t take anyone with you. Where do you go, and what do you do there? Or do you give up the trip?

Only 1 week?  🙂  I think I would go to Key West.  I’ve never been there and I’ve heard it’s beautiful.  I would relax on the beach, sail, and listen to music.  If I had more time I would go to New Zealand.  I spent just about a week there a few years ago and I did NOT want to leave.  I would like to see more of the country (we stayed around Auckland when I was there) but with the long flight from here, a week doesn’t seem like enough time.

7. Did you have an imaginary friend as a child?

Yes.  Her name was Sally.

8. What is your favorite slurpee flavor? If you have never had one, what’s your favorite candy bar?

I don’t think I’ve ever had a Slurpee!  My favorite candy bar is dark chocolate with almonds.

Here are Leslie’s questions:

1) What’s the best dish you can cook?

That depends on my mood.  In general I do well with soups, stews, and curries–things that have to be eaten with a spoon.  The hands-down favorite among my family is my vegetarian chili, but I have a soft spot for Southeast Asian food and am always trying to learn more techniques.

2) Have you ever been mentioned in the newspaper? What for?

Yes, my performances have been reviewed in newspapers in various places.

3) What’s the worst and/or most memorable job you’ve ever had?
It’s hard for me to name anything besides my current job as the worst, even though when I look at it objectively it’s not that bad.  I am really really working on this–on understanding that my boss doesn’t have to like me for me to be competent, and that she is not going to fire me just because she doesn’t like me. But it’s hard for me, and I am still carrying a lot of anxiety and dread with me every day.  I am doing my best….(getting anxious now just thinking about it).
4) When you were a teenager, at what age did you envision yourself getting married? How old were you in reality when you got married?
I honestly didn’t think about it.  I had other things all mapped out:  college, then a master’s degree, then an orchestra job, but I didn’t really think about getting married.  I was 23 when I got married.
5) What’s your most hated household chore? What’s your favorite?
Most hated:  cleaning the bathroom.  Favorite:  I’m going to assume that cooking doesn’t count.  I like organizing things.  I am terrible at STAYING organized, but I like to sort and put away and make things nice all in one fell swoop.
6) What’s your earliest memory?
My mother claims I couldn’t possibly remember this, but I swear I do.  I was sitting at our kitchen table in my mother’s lap and we were singing “Happy Birthday” to my father.  I remember my mother saying to me, “Daddy’s 25!”  It is a little implausible, since I was only a year and a half old on my father’s 25th birthday, but it sure feels like a memory.
I tag….EVERYONE!  Seriously, if you haven’t already been tagged for this one, consider yourself tagged.   Since I was asked a set of 6 and a set of 8 questions, I’m going to split the difference and ask 7.
1.  Are you good at sports?
2.  Are you allergic to anything?
3.  What’s the most spontaneous thing you’ve ever done?
4.  Do you consider yourself liberal, conservative, or something else?
5.  Do you dream in color?
6.  Would you rather have dessert, or seconds of the main course?
7.  How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?
4 responses to “i’ve been tagged

  1. ‘Self-Congratulatory Twaddle’ is a good category…he he he!

    I think I read a similar post on Kakunaa…I loved your answers…

    I like your questions…maybe I will try them out…

  2. I don’t think I have told you how cool I think it is that your a musician. I know you struggle with it sometimes but man, what a gift. I enjoyed reading more non IF stuff about you, because really, there is SO much more.
    I am curious to see if others answer your political persuasion question, could stir up some interesting conversation.

  3. I sure enjoy reading these tidbits about people! I want to go to Key West with you–that sounds like heaven.

  4. I wore a lot of my father’s flannel shirt in the 90s too, and was somewhat alarmed when it made a comeback recently (at least those cowgirl type shirts with the check patterns did, if not actual flannel). I think Doc Martens are actually cheaper now than they were in 1992.

Leave a Reply

