insult to injury

(kind of TMI)

My period started right on schedule Friday afternoon.  I was very nervous about this because I didn’t know how it would be to have a period so soon after the surgery, not that there was really anything I could do about it.  When I asked him about it before the surgery, my doctor assured me that physically there was no risk (i.e. it wouldn’t slow down my healing), but what I was worried about was pain.

Friday afternoon/evening and yesterday were god-awful.

I am eternally grateful for narcotics because I don’t know what I would have done without the miracle of oxycodone.

My swelling had started to go down earlier in the week, but I bloated right back up.  I felt grinding, searing cramps that radiated through my lower back and down my legs.  I couldn’t stop sweating.  Walking hurt.  Sitting hurt.  Lying down hurt.  I was nauseated.  It was, in other words, exactly like every other month, except with the post-surgical pain on top of it.  Not an experience I care ever to repeat if I can help it.

The good news is that today I feel much, much better.  I am not even really bleeding anymore, which is astonishing, and the cramps seem to be finished.  That’s a day and a half of cramps instead of the usual 4-5 days.  Hallelujah!  This I can handle, and hopefully next month when I am more healed it will be even easier.  (I am figuring that this cycle was already hormonally underway when I had the surgery, so next month will be my first real fibroid-free period.)

7 responses to “insult to injury

  1. Oh you poor thing. It sounds like no fun at all. Thank god for the oxycodone.

    It makes me cringe to think that you had to deal with a period so soon after your surgery but hopefully that is the worst and you can expect better things next month for sure.

    (thanks for your comment on my blog and for the lemon meringue recipe!! yum, am going to try it for sure)

    Look after yourself.
    xx

  2. Ouch, this sounds terrible. But I’m glad the pain seems to be over “already”.

  3. Oh, that sounds miserable! I am glad you had the oxycodone to help you through, AND that you are seeing an improvement in your cramping duration already!

  4. Damn, Ginger. Save some pain for the rest of us. You are double dipping. It sounds scary. Pain plus nausea is a horrid combination. You usually get one or the other, not both.

    I don’t know much about fibroids. Everything I know I learned this wk between you and Playgroup Material. It sounds like the worst is over I trust.

    How much longer are you home? You deserve a few days off when you are NOT in pain!

    When is the interview? Be sure to say please and thank you. They like that kind of crap.

    😉

  5. I had my period within days of my surgery too, I feel you. Yay for the drugs! It does get better, my mild cramps last a day at most. Hope you are feeling better every day!

  6. Hey! Thanks for stopping by! We’re almost fibroid removal twins! 😉 I got my period yesterday and was feeling the effects of healing plus normal period stuff. Granted, I’m a little further along on the healing timeline than you, it’s still not any fun. I was hoping that it would hold off until next week. I’m going to go back and read your story too! I just wanted to comment on this post! Looking forward to reading!

  7. Awful completely!

    Can just about recall my period after my D&C. From hell, yes.

    Hope you have less painful AF next time.

Leave a Reply

