an ethics question

I had figured on spending a lot of time blogging during this recovery.  I was going to subject you to daily updates on the appearance of my incision, freak out about real/imagined symptoms, you know, the usual obsessive deal.

I was also going to go back and develop my thoughts on reproductive choices and not-mothers.  I don’t think I’m really done thinking through that, and Leslie’s post about the article in SELF magazine has brought some more related things up for me.  I have been thinking of the relationships among economic status, social class, and the choices that are available, accepted, and/or visible in the public discourse.

But I haven’t been doing that, at least thus far.  I have, instead, been maintaining a grueling schedule of playing Scrabble with my mother* and obsessively watching Weeds.  I have burned through the first 2 seasons already.  Today I am going to have to get serious about doing some work, though:  my quartet has had some personnel changes and the web site needs to be updated, and also:

I HAVE A JOB INTERVIEW NEXT WEEK.

It would pretty much be a lateral move career-wise and the money would be about the same, but it would be a chance to get out of the insane situation I’m currently in.  My colleague has already called me TWICE with work questions and I have only been out for a week; I’m seriously considering being “asleep” from now on when I see the work number on my caller ID.   Just thinking about going back to work puts the knots back in my stomach.  Yesterday after talking to her and explaining where to find the files she needed, it took me a good hour to calm down.  I am honest-to-god more anxious about going back to work than I was about the surgery.  This makes me think that maybe, just possibly, just perhaps, this job is not such a good fit for me.  Also they need to stop fucking calling me.

This new job is really a strong possibility:  I know some of the people over there and I know they’re very interested in me, so I want to take some time this week to really research their programs so that I can nail the interview.  From everything I have heard it’s a great place to work and I am hopeful that they’ll offer me something.

My question for all of you:  what do you think of the ethics of using my FMLA to  job-hunt?  Because in addition to doing my research for this interview, I’m hoping to start sending out resumes in a serious way, now that I’ve got the time (and the computer!!) to look for openings at other nonprofits in the area as well.  Am I screwing over the university where I currently work by doing this?  Is there something bad-faith about trying as hard as I can not to return from my FMLA?  Please let me know what you think.

*Yesterday I scored 431 points, thank-you-very-much.

8 responses to “an ethics question

  1. I think it’s more ethical to use FMLA time to job hunt than to use any of your normal work time. This post almost gave me flashbacks to my crappy job that I finally quit in February. My boss couldn’t go ONE day without calling me, and I wasn’t ever given enough time to recover from surgeries (the first one I took 3 days, then had to travel internationally the next week), and he never really took my illness seriously period. My blood pressure and anxiety would shoot through the roof just thinking of work stuff…ugh.
    I say, if you can get out of that job, more power to you. You will be a MUCH happier person, believe me!

  2. Frankly, it is obvious that you want ‘Good Riddance’ from your current job.

    I would say, go for it! Use this FMLA time to job hunt, send resumes and play Farmville. 🙂

    Also, I think that you need to lower your stress levels.

  3. I don’t see anything wrong with job hunting while you’re on leave. I know plenty of people who have done it, and it sounds like you haven’t been happy at your current position for a while.

    It’s not as though you are using your leave solely to job hunt. You are genuinely recovering from surgery simultaneously.

  4. Congratulations on the interview!!!! Very exciting. I don’t think there is anything wrong with aplying for things while you are recovering. You deserve to be in a situation that you like and want to be in, and I think that you should totally go for it. You are not ‘stealing’ this time from your current job at all!!!

    I look forward to your post on not-mothering, etc, if you do get to it– in the meantime, rest well and hone those amazing scrabble skills!

  5. I see no ethical problem with using FMLA to job-search. After all, you’re unhappy in your job. And really…what’s unethical about wanting to be in a position where you’re not making yourself physically stressed (maybe even sick) every time your phone rings? It’s *your* time off, do what you need to do! 🙂
    And best of luck on your interview!

  6. I agree. Congrats on the job interview!! You go girl. There is no employer-employee loyalty anymore. Find your best fit and don’t look back! Seriously!!

  7. FMLA is YOURS woman. Dont even give it a second thought. Though, God love you, it is darling that it worries you! Darling.

    Your health takes priority. Your happiness is what matters.

    The move might be lateral now, but your potential is opened up when you are in a place that values you. Being settled in a place where you are committed will catapult you ahead.

    Go for it. They came to your for a reason. You have already nailed it.

    Look at my Lime GO!

  8. I don’t think its unethical. People move on from jobs all the time and that time has to come from somewhere. From your posts I can gather that your current work is not what you makes your heart sing, you aren’t particularly happy there as it doesnt sound like they’ve been that good at treating you well. The FMLA time is for YOU to do what YOU need to do to make YOURSELF feel better. If part of YOUR recouperating process is to look for another job then I say do it. In some peoples mind that may seem unethical but really, what can they do about it? And those that think that way just don’t know the full story, if they did they’d understand how justified you are. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

