red potato and leek salad

I went to the farmer’s market on Saturday and got some lovely red potatoes and leeks, among other things.  I decided that, it being the Fourth of July weekend and all, the best thing I could do with these goodies would be a potato salad.  I have a deep and unshakable love of the potato in all its forms, but I have always hated mayonnaisey gooey potato salad.  This is my version.

The cast of characters:

Top billing: red potatoes.

Costar: Chinese celery

This looks like cilantro but it’s not.  I should have stuck my thumb into the picture for scale.  Chinese celery has thinner stalks than the grocery store kind and lots of lovely leaves.  It all gets chopped up!

The leaves are the best part.

Costar: leeks

I always slice leeks before rinsing them; it’s the easiest way to get all the grit out.  I cooked the living snot out of them over medium heat with some canola oil and water so that the green parts would be tender in the salad.

Medium heat, stirring occasionally, while the potatoes boiled.

Yummy leeks.  It was all I could do not to throw in some white wine and just toss them over pasta.  But then where would my red potatoes be?  Lonely and leekless, that’s where!

Costar: hard-boiled eggs

For the dressing, I whisked four ingredients (lemon juice, canola oil, sesame oil, and soy sauce) together.  It actually came out to VERY ROUGHLY equal proportions of each, since you generally want about twice as much oil as acid.  I ended up scanting on the oil a little and then adding even more lemon juice to give it more bite, but you won’t go far wrong with a quarter cup of each of those four things.  Sesame oil, my best friend, is there anything you can’t do?

Supporting cast: canola oil, lemon juice, sesame oil, and soy sauce

Once that was all done,  all that was left was to toss the ingredients together.

Let's take a moment to get to know each other, shall we?

A great big bowl of tasty.

Yum!  Not much of a recipe, really, but it was a good seat-of-the-pants way to use some of this week’s farmer’s market haul.  I think next time I will try for more bite with a Thai-style dressing (lime juice, chillies, and fish sauce).

And this was really fun; it was my first attempt at a “real” food post.  I think I will do some more in the future!

5 responses to “red potato and leek salad

  1. I love potatoes!!!!!! With a passion.

    I’m making vichyssoise tonight, so we must be thinking similar things 🙂

    Your salad looks fabulous.

  2. Looks yummy!! I had the same puzzle of what to do with kale leaves and salmon ???- so I seasoned the salmon with salt , pepper, some olive oil and dill, lemon juice and wrapped salon slices in the blanched kale leaves. Put it on the grill and voila!! yummy salmon. Who knew?

  3. NOOOOOOOOM! Though I just want to speak up for potato salad made with mayo. I bet you’d like mine. So THERE! (Of course, that’s what everyone thinks about her potato salad…)

  4. Share some with me? Please?

  5. thanks for sharing! Im making it for a potluck gathering at my friend’s place tonight. Hope they love leek!

Leave a Reply

