eight years

On our wedding day you shone for me.  It was incredibly hot (what were we thinking?) and my dress…well, let’s just say it could have stayed up a little better.  But I remember holding your hands during the ceremony.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

On our first anniversary we were packing.  You came up north with me and hiked and breathed fresh air.  I played seven concerts and we just left all the stupid city stuff behind.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

On our second anniversary we were planning our escape.  I polished up my CV and we started looking at maps.  You worked so hard to help me finish my degree.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

On our third anniversary we were apart.  I was speaking Thai and learning to love fish sauce.  You were loading up a moving truck with stuff to store in your parents’ garage.  I will never forget my daily Cup-Pa coffee and our Yahoo Messenger chats.  I waited for you.  I bought furniture and a coffee maker; you sent me books and nightgowns.  Finally you got off the plane. I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

On our fourth anniversary you bought me a beautiful necklace with four crystals.  We spent the day in Bangkok eating American food and thinking about home.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

On our fifth anniversary we had nothing at all.  You picked me up from work and we ate falafel, then went home to our tiny apartment.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

On our sixth anniversary we talked about babies.  We held hands and hoped.  We started counting nine months at a time.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

On our seventh anniversary everyone asked us if we felt the itch.  We just held hands.  I couldn’t take my eyes off of you.

Today I want to breathe you in without stopping.  I will never take my eyes off of you.

6 responses to “eight years

  1. Thank you for eight great years, my love! I’ll never stop staring at you either. 🙂

  2. Beautiful! Happy Anniversary!

  3. sniffle…sniffle…*BURSTS INTO TEARS* You guys will be wonderful parents.

  4. I think it’s terrific that you still feel this way about each other after eight years of marriage.

    Happy anniversary!

  5. Wishing you a long and happy wedded life…Congrats on your 8th wedding anniversary…

    Also praying that your dreams come true…

  6. beautiful! beautiful! beautiful!

Leave a Reply

