to test or not to test?

Well, here I am on what should be CD1.  No AF.  No sign of AF (I usually get a good 3-4 days of spotting before).

I’m not an early tester.  It’s just too depressing.  I have always waited until I’m officially late…which is either today or this coming Thursday, depending on how I count (I am always between 28 and 30 days).  And now, with the whole fibroid thing, I’m not convinced it’s even possible for me to be pregnant.  There is a lot to be said for just waiting it out.

But for the first time in my life, I’m actually impatient for CD1.  I can’t get my bloodwork or schedule my SIS until I start a new cycle…and that was supposed to happen today, dammit!

I’m doing that thing where I examine every single twinge.  Usually I can feel my period coming a mile away (or 4-5 days away, anyway).  It’s why I wrote that post last week about the Christmas carol; I was almost at the point where I start feeling symptoms and figured the rest of the cycle was a foregone conclusion.

Except here I am, late for the first time in over 6 months, not spotting, not cramping, starting to think crazy thoughts…..

I can’t even type it.

Maybe I will test.

8 responses to “to test or not to test?

  1. TEST!!!!! 🙂
    Fingers crossed!!!!

  2. Hey, you never know. . . . stranger things have happened. My own sister found out she was pregnant during her initial work-up by the RE. They were planning to start treatment the very next cycle. (Of course, your mileage may vary.)

    I am not generally one for early testing, but if you’re already late. . . . why not?

  3. TEST! TEST! How can you not! Of course, I totally am one for early testing. I think you have to decide how much it would hurt to get a negative, or, worse still, how much it would hurt to have a chemical. Mine was painless, but that’s ’cause I didn’t have a chance to test until I was a few days late. So…I’m not sure what my recommendation is. Except…more information is always better! TEST!

  4. Do you know what day you ovulated? How many days past o are you? I’m one of those who has a different length LP every month (unusual), so just going on cycle length never works for me.
    I say wait until you can’t wait any more to test. I always get depressed when I see a negative test, less than when I see spotting or AF show up…

  5. I am a master POASer, so I’m not the one to ask!!!

  6. Test Test Test….and get over it. (because what will be will be)

  7. Pingback: the thing with feathers « ginger and lime

  8. Pingback: the long version | ginger and lime

Leave a Reply

