a diagnosis?

Today was the first visit with New RE.

Right off the bat I could see that this was going to be a different experience than with the chucklehead we saw a few months back.  New RE (I am going to have to think of a good blog nickname for him) actually asked us questions.  Listened to the answers.  Didn’t brush me off when I said I suspected endometriosis.  What a relief!  We did a consult, then based on what I told him about my periods he said he wanted to do an ultrasound.  We were led into the ultrasound room and I took my pants off…the nurse prepped the instrument (covered it with a condom)….and then I had to stare at it for 15 minutes, just imagining….

So finally the doctor came back in.  He did a pelvic exam, then started the ultrasound.  Almost immediately he said, “Well, you know you have fibroids, right?”

NO.

I don’t know that.

When I had my HSG in December the tech immediately told me I had a submucosal fibroid as she read the scan–then when we went back for a consult with Original RE he said that no, I didn’t in fact have any fibroids.  Or any abnormalities.  Or any reason not to get pregnant.

So this came as a bit of a shock.  New RE continued poking around with the ultrasound (I know some of you know what this is like…let me tell you, it is WEIRD).

I can’t tell you what a relief it is to have something to grab on to.  Even though, based on our past experience (fibroid/no fibroid), I remain a little skeptical of this as a final diagnosis, it is so good to feel like there is someone who knows what is going on!

Here’s the plan:

I’m going to have CD3 blood work done, probably next week.  Then I’m going to go back in for another ultrasound with saline (I forgot what this one is called) so he can get a better look at the fibroids, which are apparently submucosal and therefore keeping us from conceiving.  Sometime later this summer I am going to have a myomectomy and then….awaaaaaay we go!  TTC with nothing gumming up the works.

(My favorite part of today’s appointment:  the RE asked what we had been using for birth control before we started TTC.  We told him we had used the Today Sponge for several years while it was back on the market.  He looked up at us, startled, and said, “And you didn’t get pregnant?  Well, there’s definitely a problem.”  I just find that hilarious:  our useless, unnecessary birth control wouldn’t have worked even if we’d been fertile!)

14 responses to “a diagnosis?

  1. Going to a good RE makes all the difference. It’s rather frightening all the doctors out there who don’t know what they’re doing and yet still treating patients. I hope removing the fibroids will help you turn the page on IF.

  2. Oh boy, how did your original RE miss it, when the tech actually latched on correct?

    I am glad that you are in better hands, that the new hands are humorous, and that you have a plan!

    P.S. I can see that you are tweaking your blog template, and by far the latest one is the best….I love the foliage.

  3. The wand-a prodding the deep interiors feels weird to me as well…

  4. OH MY GOD! Is it terrible that I am THRILLED for you? An RE who listens! An RE with a brain! A possible solution! One I happen to know a lot about! I’m so surprised the tech who did your HSG was right and your old RE was wrong–I remember telling you the RE was much more likely to be right. Anyway, while I’m totally with you on the skepticism (AS IF there could really be a fix for any of us…) I’m so excited about the possibility. Let me know if you want anything from my vast library of encouraging papers about fibroids! And congratulations on the positive experience. I hope you’re feeling flooded with optimism, ’cause you should be!

  5. P.S. I mean to say I love the new design, too. Easy to read, for my ancient eyes!

  6. I imagine you must have some mixed feeling right about now, in many ways your diagnosis is a good one. Submucosal fibroids are the fibroids that are most likely to interfere with conception. Like Bunny, I just had a fibroid, well two actually removed less than two weeks ago. If you decide to go the myomectomy route, come on over. I would be more than happy to share my experiences with you. Best of luck!

  7. while I’m sorry that you have fibroids and that your old doc messed up, I’m SO SO SO happy that there seems to be a VERY positive plan in place! I hope this is the diagnosis you need!!! xo

  8. Wow, this is a very exciting day! I mean, it sucks that you have fibroids and have to go through surgery, of course, but the fact that the problem has been identified and can be fixed????? Oh My God, priceless!!!! I can’t wait to hear you post that you got knocked up on your first post-surgical try! 😉

  9. This plan is fantastic! And like your other commenters, I immediately felt this awesome sense of relief for you….being “unexplained” is so terribly frustrating. But pinpointing WHY things aren’t happening is just amazing….you can solve the problem and get on with making that baby at long last! So glad you’re seeing an RE who is smart and compassionate (and funny). Yip!

  10. Damn! Yup, submucosal are the worst in terms of fertility. I had a submucosal polyp that 2 doctors referred to as a “homegrown IUD.” The good news is that they are usually able to remove them hysteroscopically, so no incisions and pretty quick recovery.

  11. I’m just catching up on your posts and I have to say that I’m SO PLEASED that you found an RE that seems to be on the same page as you. It makes the world of difference. And although it sucks that you have fibriods I completely understand your relief to have an explanation and a plan to work through now. It’s gonna happen!

  12. Pingback: the thing with feathers « ginger and lime

  13. I can’t believe how totally incompetent some people are who hold other people’s lives and dreams in their hands! Really, how do they even walk a straight line. That last RE must have got his license online. What a joke of a doctor. Imagine how much damage that person is doing. GOD!

  14. Oh yeah, and P.S. – ditto on the congrats! I, myself, think this is good news. A diagnosed problem with a solution!

Leave a Reply

