maybe i’ll be a chef

Join me in my latest escapist fantasy. In this magical rainbow fairy land, I run off to New York to learn all about yuzu and ramps. I develop mad knife skills.  I throw around words like sous vide and molecular gastronomy. I learn to make the perfect dashi.

I am a pretty-good home cook.  My repertoire is very limited and I don’t have a lot of technique–but my food makes people really, really happy, and I like to play with flavors and ingredients.  I love the farmer’s market in the summer because I can always count on coming home with something I’ve never seen before.  Sometimes the results are positive, sometimes not–last year I tried really, really hard to like bitter melon.  With no success.  In magical rainbow fairy land, of course, they are delightful and I find the perfect recipe to set off their bitterness…hey, maybe if they were sliced very thin and served with mango and sweet creamy coconut rice….mmm, mango.  I may have to give bitter melon another try.

But anyway, if I could pick up today and leave my whole life behind, I would learn to cook.  Really cook.

COMMENTS PLEASE!

I want to know.  What’s your (non-fertility-related) escapist fantasy?  What would you do if you could do anything?

9 responses to “maybe i’ll be a chef

  1. Awww, it’s wonderful that your food makes people happy! I cook because I have to in order to make sure that we eat real food, but I wish I loved it more.

    Hmmm…sometimes I think about what I’ll do if I don’t get tenure, at which point I’ll need a new career. I don’t have a full fledged fantasy, I guess ’cause I’m livin’ the dream, but I imagine myself as a children’s book author, or an organization consultant (like someone who comes in and makes other people’s lives tidy).

  2. Oh I don’t think I can answer that question, I wish I had another dream apart from parenthood. I wish it wasn’t all I want right now.
    I like your idea of being a chef. I love food, extremely love it but am really spazmodic with my passion for actaully cooking it. Food really does bring people together and it can be so much more than nutritrion can’t it?

  3. I’m kinda with egghunt – I’ve never had aspirations and dreams to be anything other than a mom (serious ones anyway). I guess it would be pretty cool, though to be a Master Gardener. To be able to make anything grow anywhere :). That would be a handy talent!

  4. Just found your blog via LFCA.
    I’ve had vague dreams of opening my own cupcake shop. Or raw food store. Or sustainable school lunch catering company. Or some wacky thing like that. I, too, lust after produce at the summer farmer’s markets …
    Thanks for making us think about this!

  5. I day dream about opening a yarn shop, working as a nurse for Doctors Without Borders, being a trust-fund baby and loafing around in coffee shops… but nothing solid and consistent.

    Mostly I wish I had more time to get things in order in my life… like decorate my house “just so” or learn to bake bread.

  6. Thanks for your thoughts, everyone! Of course the big dream in our minds is pregnancy and parenthood–but I think it’s fun to have something else to think about, purely as escapism. (Someday I’ll tell you the one about Matt Damon!)

    I am now envisioning some kind of master plan in which we band together, providing snobby food, lush plants, cupcakes, and yarn to all comers. Though I have to admit, I rather like the trust-fund-and-coffee-shop angle!

  7. Frankly, I would be a beach bum.

    I would love to wake up and sleep to the sound of waves, have my money left in by mermaids, and just loll around….I could also become a dreamy writer on that…

  8. Thank you so much for your comment on my blog! It was really nice of you to offer a virtual hug and I appreciate it 🙂

    I loved this question! I would want to quit my job and spend a year travelling the world and working as I went. Teaching ESL, waiting tables, whatever. My husband isn’t big on travel though so I don’t see this actually ever happening. Maybe when we’re old I can sell him on 3 months.

    I think being a chef would be great too!

  9. I would produce amazing radio stories a la This American Life or Radio Lab and would have a spectacular garden. I might become a master gardener.

Leave a Reply

