minnesota

I am leaving tomorrow for a conference in Minnesota, where I will be premiering a new electroacoustic work.  I’m really excited about it, as this is a major conference and one I’ve never been to before, and the piece I’m premiering is really innovative and very well-crafted.  I’m going with the composer, the other members of my ensemble, and another composer.

I am going to play, I am going to hear lots of great music (and probably some not-so-great music), I am going to drink lots of gin and tonics, and I am going to spend 5 days away from the usual sad hurlyburly.  This is going to be fun.  Fun, dammit!  Do I remember how to have fun?

Maybe I’ve got an instruction manual around here somewhere…

Fun, the gingerandlime way:

Step 1.  Get the hell out of the city…as far as possible from my office!

Step 2.  Focus on playing–you know, that part of life I’m actually good at!

Step 3.  Hang out with really great, interesting people.

Step 4.  Try new things, meet new people.

Step 5.  Did I mention gin and tonic?

Step 6.  Repeat steps 2-5 as necessary.

6 responses to “minnesota

  1. So excited for you – have FUN!!!!

  2. Gin and tonics…yum!!!

  3. Hurrah! Leave all this sad crap behind! I hope the performance goes splendidly and is very well received and you meet inspirational people and…I gotta go make a gin and tonic now. Have a wonderful trip!

  4. YAY,a change of scenery is definately good news! Enjoy the break, and the gin!

  5. Yes, it DOES sound fun. Hurrah for gin!

  6. As it turns out, I had the best gin and tonic I’ve ever had in my life…the cute bartender talked me into springing for the expensive lime-infused gin.

Leave a Reply

