motivation, i lack it

OK, so apparently what I will be doing this weekend is sitting at my computer feeling sorry for myself.  Particularly since I have to go to work tomorrow (ugh).  Sorry, green pants!  We will meet again soon.  I need some veg time.

Since I’m by myself, I’m going to eat whatever I like for dinner.  And whatever I like is, as always, pasta!  My favorite since I was a little kid.  Here’s how I make the sauce:

splash of olive oil

1 small onion, chopped very fine (about half of a grocery store onion is plenty)

1 clove garlic, minced

3 Thai chillies, sliced or chopped

8 oz mushrooms, sliced

1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes

generous handful of fresh basil in season (about 2 teaspoons dried if it’s not)

a generous shake of dried oregano (anyone ever used fresh?  They don’t have it at the farmer’s market here)

pinch of salt

Start the water for the pasta.  While it’s heating, saute the onion, garlic, mushrooms, and chillies in the olive oil until soft.  Add the remaining ingredients, stir, cover, and simmer until the pasta is done.

5 responses to “motivation, i lack it

  1. autoimmunelife

    That sounds excellent! I can’t have the chilies, but otherwise I may have to make this!! 🙂

  2. Yummy :). I do love pasta, but unfortunately I think it’s a thing of the past for me. Thai chillies are fantastic, though!

  3. I missed a bunch of posts ’cause of the weekend, so I’m sorry your two week wait ended unhappily. It sucks extra to have that happen when the husband unit is not around to cuddle you. And your pasta sounds awfully tasty! I’ve got fresh oregano in my garden and because it seeds itself so quickly, I always bring a little new plant in for the winter, so I could totally use it for this!

  4. I definitely recommend growing some oregano in a pot. I like the flavor of fresh a lot, especially in bruschetta or salad dressings, but in soups and cooked sauces dried can be better cause the flavor is stronger. Sounds delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

