mortar and pestle

A few years ago my husband bought me the most beautiful stone mortar and pestle.  It’s just large enough to make som tam in, and the pestle is big and heavy enough that I can let its weight provide all of the force.  It is so satisfying.

My mother can’t understand why I would ever use it when I have a perfectly good food processor.

One response to “mortar and pestle

  1. Mmmm…son tam looks tasty. Years ago I was all about the ethnic foodstuffs and really wanted a mortar and pestle. I was like, I’ll make my own garam masala, I’ll be grinding stuff all the time! But as it turned out I’m really just a lazy cook and never actually needed one. Anyway, sounds really satisfying to use!

Leave a Reply

